top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSnowe Journal

Mannequin Desires by Molly Knox


Day by day she dresses me, in sunrise early light.

She holds my hand, caresses it. Her veins glow warm

And blue. I dream of her, pink and full of gore.

Muscles collapse into marrow decorations. Tied

With a bow. To hang around my stagnant neck.

I parade her favourite clothes. I loathe

Her essence. Her ability to talk.

Her. Ruby lips to grab and sew

To a blank, marketable face. I see, they admire.

How well I fit her clothes. She wraps them round

My form. Elegant- compact, no fat to combat.

I wish for a snug fit, for red rings

Bitten by ill-fitting cotton. To grow out,

To grow in, up. Maybe even down.

Cold. She says I am cold.

Picture her skin pressed against my synthetic

Thighs. Her blood scattered like autumn leaves,

Poured like wine and savoured. A toast to our exchange.

A spurious woman clawing to emerge from her pieces.

Yearning to feel like she does. Seize my supple fingers

And know what it means to hurt.

Know that I am alive,

Know that I know that I

Know that I am. Stride down the aisles, peruse

With lung handbags and skull beret.

So I dismember her embers; her flame.

But don’t worry; only in my brain.


But I am. A silicon statue, staring vacant.

Faceless and alone. Model those

Nasty fast fashion clothes. Hands on hips, nailed

To a podium. The taxidermized bird in a cage.

Let’s swap- I echo. She’d be centre stage.

I think therefore I’m skin and bones.

But you wouldn’t really know.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page